The Major Chakras

31st August 2011

The 7 major chakras are positioned along a central column of  energy that aligns with the spine. This column runs up from  between your legs and out of the top of your head. This has  various names:  the Sushumna; it is also known as the Hara Line.  The function of this column is to move energy up and down the  central column of the body so that it can be absorbed by different  parts of the body.


Each chakra aligns with a specific frequency of energy and draws this into it. We can experience these frequencies of energy in different ways, but the most familiar is the color association that we make with chakras (see below). They will draw in other energy frequencies as well, depending on how balanced or developed they are. When viewed clairvoyantly or experienced kinesthetically, a chakra is in a perpetual swirling motion. When viewed from the front of the body, a chakra consists of an outer wheel or vortex of energy, and then inner wheels of energy. Both inner and outer wheels of energy should move in the same direction. Facing outwards from the body, the left side of the chakra contains a feminine or yin energy; the right side a male or yang energy.  The male energy is active, physical, and linear. The female energy is spiritual, reflective, passive and intuitive.

The major chakras and their color associations are as follows:

Crown Chakra – positioned at the top of the head: white

Third Eye Chakra – positioned between the eyes, just above the brow line: purple/indigo

Throat Chakra – positioned at the base of the throat: sky blue

Heart Chakra – positioned at the centre of the chest: grass green

Solar Plexus Chakra – positioned at the solar plexus: yellow

Sacral Chakra – positioned approximately 1-2″ below the navel: orange

Base Chakra – positioned between the legs at the base of the spine: red

Apart from the Base and Crown chakras, each of the chakras in the body has a front and back aspect. Generally, the back of a chakra contains our unconscious aspects; the front of a chakra contains our conscious aspects. The outer wheel of the chakra contains information or beliefs which determine our relationships with the outer world – these are often dysfunctional; for example “I am unlovable”. Negative beliefs held here impact our subconscious and the way that the subtle energy system absorbs energy. The inner wheel usually reflects the spiritual truths that we hold, which link to the supraconscious or higher aspects of the mind. The beliefs here are generally positive: “I am worthy” etc.

Each of the major chakras has emotional, mental, physical, and spiritual correspondences – we will look at this in more detail in another post. The key point to be aware of is that each chakra is an expression of who you are at a physical, emotional, psychological and spiritual level. For many human beings, their energetic focus is on the first three chakras which are concerned with survival & material enrichment, feelings (especially fear and anger) and sexuality, and the lower aspects of mind: the higher chakras are either not open or receive very little energy by comparison. If the higher chakras open and receive more energy, then a person’s consciousness shifts and develops, bringing in higher aspects of the personality and a capacity for relating to life through the heart rather than the mind. These higher chakras can awaken spontaneously, or through an initiation such as Reiki, or a practice such as Yoga or meditation. Many people naturally open these higher chakras as they grow and develop.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.